Graduation Candidates 2019-2020 Film & Media Studies Seniors

Ernesto Acevedo Trevor Akana Keana Alden Esteban Alvarado Harout Avakeretsvan Rachelle Barone Adam Barrios Jailene Bautista Aaron Berkness Josh Bevan Laeticia Janelle Bettinger Grant Bianchi Darvl Boman Emma Bridgland Nashelle Brown Natalia Bruening Calvin Bruhns Maddie Burke Jalia Carlton-Carew Yehna Cha Teren'e Chambers Gavin Chan Jason Chen Katy Choi Siu Chong Dustin Culp Avlin Curtis Griffin Davies Drew Davis Ashley De Leon Paul ĎeBruynkops Victor Diaz Lafferty Kayla Duffey Luke Dustin Daniel Dver-Diaz Milla Dzakovic Mike Escobar Alex Espinosa Jennifer Fallejo Jesse Feinstein Reed Felder Catalina Fernandez Kira Finigan Sean Fisher Jason Floyer Miles Forrest Dag Forsberg Alexa Fortier Hannah Friend Svlvia Friend Árturo Fuentes Cole Fuetsch Katherine Fukuda Molly Galliher

Willem Geier

Michael Hall

Ian Hamilton

Kai Glick Lizzet Gutierrez

Edwin Giron-Montenegro

Hannah Hernandez Angelina Herrera Aviel Hod Kelly Holt Shannon Holt Laura Hong Kyrie Howard Sixian Hu McKinley Hutchings Eve Jablonkay Hugo Jimenez Gonzalez Evan Joffe Hunter Johnsen Emma Johnson Sammy Johnson Ianelle Jordan Amalie Jorgensen Brian Ka Maggie Kelley Davis Kelly Samuel Kempfer Ashley Kim Daniel Kong Fong Kuo Alex Lebowitz Walker Lee Cameron Leingang Zizheng Liu Weston Lombardo Ashley Lopez Francisco Lopez Gabriel Lopez Tori Lopez Carlos Luna Lexi Lunchick Frederico Lynch Ribeiro Yasmine Malas McKenzie Majerle Kavlev Mauldin Sam McEntee Grant McGee Victoria McLaughlin Gregory Mears Ruovao Meng Maximilian Meritt Omar Miranda Valerie Montes Eliza Moody Vincenzo Muia Jacob Muniz Meagan Murdoch Claudia Nader

Tyler Newton

Sarah Nunn

Chris Perez

Sarai Perez Laura Perez-Landin

Mika Pham

Gabrielle Pino

Marcus Pipitone

Hunter Pittman Vladen Ponomar Mikhail Prokhorov Dylan Qualin Malcolm Rashid Jimmy Reynolds Marke Riodil Jonatan Robles Jazmin Rosario Mitchka Saberi Vince Sackey Gabriela Salazar Nikki Sami Santiago Sanchez Ethan Schaffer Iulia Schmidt Emily Schwab Ziiin Shao Kaith Karishma Shenton Isabelle Shepard Linfan Shi Jinghang Shu Kara Sica Roberto Solano Blake Spiller Amara Stinson Charles Stock Komal Surani Joev Szalkiewicz Junle Tang Zhichao Tang Alyse Tatevosian Cálvin Thrift Chase Tobe Daylon Townes Steven Waltermire Ze Wang Sam Warren Rvan Watt West Weir Nicky Weniz Ryan Wilford Jakob Wolken Skyler Wu Xinyi Wu Zacharv Ye Justin You Katelyn Zamudio

Department of Film & Media Studies University of California, Santa Barbara

Graduation Recognition Ceremony

June 14, 2020

Wishing You Success in the Future



2019-2020 **Graduation Program**

Attention Seniors

Welcoming Remarks

Bhaskar Sarkar Department Chair

John Maiewski Michael Douglas Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts

Departmental Address

Bhaskar Sarkar

Film & Media Studies Senior Projects and Memory Highlights

Compiled by Keith Boynton & Francisco Lopez

Student Address

Mikaela (Mika) Pham

Presentation of Awards

The Alexander Sesonske Prize: Presented by Charles Wolfe

Recognizes writing and research capacity for student essays about film, television, and digital history, theory and criticism. The award is named after one of the founders of our department.

"Questioning Human Life's Value" by Harvest Keeney

Italian Heritage Prize: Presented by Anna Brusutti

Recognizes critical work that focuses on Italian film or television. Competition is open to both undergraduate and graduate students but the work must have been produced for a course taken during the current school year. Award is sponsored by The Italian Heritage Foundation of Santa Barbara.

Eoin Goyette

Katherine Swartz

The Paul N. and Elinor T. Lazarus Scholarship: Presented by Tom Lazarus Fosters the development of a student's focus on writing for the screen. Award was established in memory of Paul Lazarus who taught screenwriting at UCSB for over 20 years. Many of his former students have gone on to write, produce, and direct major Hollywood films and television shows. It is open to Film and Media majors in their junior year. The scholarship recipient spends their senior year working in connection with an instructor to develop a new film or television screenplay.

Emma Demorest

Eoin Govette

The Dorothy and Sherrill C. Corwin Awards: Presented by Allison Anders For the last 40 years, the Corwin Family and the Metropolitan Theatres Corporation have generously financed this award recognizing the creative talent of UCSB students in screenwriting and production.

Best Feature Screenplay:

First Place:

Reynmar by Kaith Karishma Shenton

Second Place (tie):

Cabin Fever by Tyler Eastlick

Now Unto Us by Alexander Espinosa

Best Short Screenplay:

California Dreamin' by Howard Lukk

Best Short Film:

First Place:

Not One More produced by Lexi Lunchick

Second Place:

Felix's Elixirs produced by Karina Rodriguez & Amanda Orzechowska

The Television Writing Award: Presented by Cheri Steinkellner

Recognizes promise in writing for the screen. Award is made possible by a donation from Rick Rosen (William Morris Endeavor).

Best Half-Hour Sitcom:

The Office Spec Script by Maximillian Merritt

Best Hour-Long Drama:

The Resistance by Sydney Sterling

Webisodes

How the Dog Dies by Daniel Kong

Best Director Award: Presented by Chris Ienkins

Recognizes directing in student projects created during the academic year. Award is made possible by a donation from the Scott Wells Memorial Foundation. Scott was a Film and Media Studies alumni who passed away in 2012.

Tie:

Cameron Leingang for Not One More

Charles Stock for Felix's Elixirs

David F. Siegel Award: Presented by Michael Siegel

Recognizes the memory of one our alumni who lost his battle with Leukemia just a month prior to graduation. As a student, David made every effort to put energy into his classes while he was healthy. His determination in the face of his illness has inspired this award and it recognizes graduating seniors in the Film and Media department who have shown "exceptional drive, tenacity, and courage in the face of adversity."

Santiago Sanchez

Christian Perez

The Spirit Award: Presented by Janet Walker

Recognizes a student who embodies the dynamic spirit essential to the collaborative environment of the department; their enthusiasm, generosity, and initiative while working for the department, the Pollock Theater, and department student clubs.

Paul DeBruynkops

Fong Kou

Hunter Johnsen

Mikaela Pham

Graduate Student Accomplishments: Presented by Professor Jennifer Holt

MA degree

Stephen Borunda

Trinankur Banerjee

PhD degree

Naomi DeCelles

Lisa Han

Distinction in Critical Studies: Presented by Constance Penley

Recognizes a student's achievement in critical thinking, analysis and writing.

Laeticia Janelle Bettinger Jennifer Fallejo Katherine Fukuda Molly Galliher Kai Glick Ian Hamilton Frederico Lynch Ribeiro

Emma Johnson Marcus Pipitone

Mitchka Saberi Julia Schmidt

Outstanding Graduating Seniors: Presented by Michael Curtin

Recognizes students overall academic achievements across critical studies and production as well as their contributions to the life of the department. We acknowledge students who are active, prepared, versatile, and involved in at least one other activity outside the classroom.

Maddie Burke Cameron Leingang Vincenzo Muia

Catalina Fernandez Carlos Luna

Michael Hall Victoria McLaughlin Joey Skalkiewicz

Mikaela Pham Komal Surani Calvin Thrift

Class of 2020: presented by Cynthia Felando, Ross Melnick, and Alenda Chang