Graduation Candidates 2020-2021 Film & Media Studies Seniors

Daniel Acuesta Ionathan Aguilar Yutaka Akiyama Leah Akomolafe Margo Akopov Alex Hamilton Alvarez Giselle Arrovo Cole Atkinson **Javier Avalos** Samantha Bakke Nalie Borihane Sierra Brannen Ouinton Brown Karen Buck Dan Campanaro Justin Cardenas Audrey Carganilla Ana Chavez Mengxiao Chen Tiffany Chen Robin Clayton Talavan Cohen Ryan Connolly Elizabeth Cook Iessica Cortez Garcia Hannah Dayton Emma Demorest Rachel Deng Kyle Dent Shianne Dingeman Luka Dragovevich Leilani Durden Tyler Eastlick Alyssa Fine Kira Finigan Angela Friedman Nicholas Gamber Isaac Garcia Joshua Garnica Takai Gillam Eoin Govette

Jorge Gonzalez-Espinoza Rachael Grand Dan Gunko **Iason Gutierrez**

Luke Hamann Rvan Harriman Nichole Hatcher Jackie Hauser

Saige Heitman Alondra Hernandez Carmona

Bailee Galvan Hobbs

Kelly Holt

Charli Hurley Mana Inoue Jazmin Jacob Selene Jalalianfard YooJin Jeong Kobie Jimenez Carvn Johnson Marina Jones Kirill Kaptur James Karanu Harvest Keenev Andrew Kenny Nidhi Khanolkar Hvunwook Kim Willy Kim Yuta Kimura Jennifer King Harper Lambert Cristina Larios Soria Shelby Lawrence Gerald Lawson Iie Li

Tianjiao Li Xueni Liao Charles Liu Joseph Loneman Jose Salomon Lopez Charles Lu Howard Lukk Lola Macaulay

Hannah Maerowitz Jeremy Mao Aidan Mastrogiorgio Matthew Mcpherson Theo Witteveen Karina Morales Christine Mouton Kassandra Ni Iake Ortega Madison Örtiz

Ali Paolino-Du Bois Roxanne Pereira Cole Person Havley Pickard Mia Pimentel Hunter Pittman Dustin Pitzer Sam Platt Jake Potts

Si Qin Avline Rebollo Michael Reehl

Michelle Qi Kylie Relph

Marke Riodil Max Rothfeld Dylan Ruebenstahl Logan Ruybalid Shorva Saklani Zach Savage Ieffrey Seeburger Hanna Sheehan Sonva Sherman Jake Shore Chris Silver Alexander Sintic Finnegan Smith Rachel Smith Dan Soroka Viviana Soto Charmaine Stansall Sydney Sterling Rosabel Su Evan Sutherland Derren Taylor Harry Topper Magan Tran Kamrvn Tung Argun Turkun Mariemma Uguccioni Sabrina Vasich Iared Vilaseca Zachariah Villaruel Angelique Wagner Reece Weinberg Elli Williams Andrew Worstell Sivuan Xia Cage Yamamuro Zhenan Yan Chenyu Yang Annie Zabilski Tianvang Zhang

Justin Zuniga

Department of Film & Media Studies University of California, Santa Barbara

Graduation Recognition Ceremony

June 13, 2021

Wishing You Success in the Future



2020-2021 Graduation Program

Attention Seniors

Welcoming Remarks

Peter Bloom Department Chair

Mary Hancock Acting Dean of Humanities and Fine Arts

Director of Curricular Initiatives

Departmental Address

Peter Bloom

Film & Media Studies Senior Projects and Memory Highlights

Compiled by Keith Boynton and Chris Jenkins

Student Address

Elizabeth Cook

Presentation of Awards

The Alexander Sesonske Prize: Presented by Charles Wolfe

Recognizes writing and research capacity for student essays about film, television, and digital history, theory and criticism. The award is named after one of the founders of our department.

Tie

"Herring Hitler: Irreverence as a Rejection of Fascist Performativity in To Be or Not To Be" by Eoin Goyette

"Behind Closed Doors: Early Cine-Feminism and Experimental Filmmaking of the Sixties & Seventies" by Ana Chavez

The Paul N. and Elinor T. Lazarus Scholarship: Presented by Tom Lazarus Fosters the development of a student's focus on writing for the screen. Award was established in memory of Paul Lazarus who taught screenwriting at UCSB for over 20 years. Many of his former students have gone on to write, produce, and direct major Hollywood films and television shows. The award is open to Film and Media majors in their junior year. The scholarship recipient spends their senior year working in connection with an instructor to develop a new film or television screenplay.

Katherine Fogg

Distinction in the Major: Presented by Alenda Chang

Given to a student completing a substantial two-quarter research project.

Stewart Smith

The Dorothy and Sherrill C. Corwin Awards:

For the last 40 years, the Corwin Family and the Metropolitan Theatres Corporation have generously funded this award recognizing the creative talent of UCSB students in screenwriting and production.

Best Feature Screenplay: Presented by James McNamara
Wine and Music in the Parish by Eoin Goyette

Best Short Screenplay: Presented by Wendy Jackson Fatherhood by Javier Barraja

Best Short Video: Presented by Chris Jenkins

First Place:

Drop in Sand produced by Erika Egg & Marcello Frisina

Second Place

Unfiltered produced by Hollie Collins

The Television Writing Award: Presented by Cristina Venegas

Recognizes promise in writing for the screen. Award is made possible by a donation from Rick Rosen (William Morris Endeavor).

Best Half-Hour Sitcom:

A Short Film: Crew Call by Michael Tran

Best Hour-Long Drama:

First Place:

Sapho by Sydney Sterling

Second Place

Silver Wings by Mariah Hudnut

Best Director Award: Presented by Rachel Gray

Recognizes directing in student projects created during the academic year. Award is made possible by a donation from the Scott Wells Memorial Foundation. Scott was a Film and Media Studies alumni who passed away in 2012.

Jon Lewis for Waiting on Host

David F. Siegel Award: Presented by Michael Siegel

Recognizes the memory of one of our alumni who lost his battle with Leukemia just a month prior to graduation. As a student, David made every effort to put energy into his classes while he was healthy. His determination in the face of his illness has inspired this award and it recognizes graduating seniors in the Film and Media department who have shown "exceptional drive, tenacity, and courage in the face of adversity."

Louis Gomes

The Spirit Award: Presented by Joe Palladino & Peter Bloom

Recognizes a student who embodies the dynamic spirit essential to the collaborative environment of the department; their enthusiasm, generosity, and initiative while working for the department, the Pollock Theater, and department student clubs.

Christine Mouton Jake Ortega

Distinction in Critical Studies: Presented by Janet Walker

Recognizes a student's achievement in critical thinking, analysis, and writing.

Charmaine Stansall Elizabeth Cook Harper Lambert

Christine Mouton Howard Lukk Sydney Sterling

Outstanding Graduating Seniors: Presented by Michael Curtin

Recognizes student's overall academic achievements across critical studies and production as well as their contributions to the life of the department. We acknowledge students who are active, prepared, versatile, and involved in at least one other activity outside the classroom.

Quinton BrownAna ChavezAlyssa FineEoin GoyetteDan GunkoJake OrtegaSonya ShermanChris SilverElli Williams

Class of 2020: presented by Cynthia Felando, Ross Melnick, Laila Shereen Sakr and Greg Siegel