Graduation Candidates 2022-2023 Film & Media Studies Seniors

Al Nicardo Adderly Brandon Nicholas Anders Mckenzie Mae Anderson Brandon Andrion Kayla Gonzales Arcilla Iason Avilez William A Baldwin Robin Hill Baptista Iavier A Baraias John Paul Barajas Zavden Mcneill Bates Kate Elizabeth Bellantoni Brady Lee Berryhill Min Khant Bo Clay James Boghossian Matthew Torres Brennan Nick T Burbridge Charlie Bursch Johnny Francis Caldwell Quinn Allegra Cantarutti Gloria Marie Capulong Katherine Anne Caracciolo Iacob Antone Carmen Ariel Chang Douglas Chen Lingin Chen Natalie Rose Cheyette Johan Choi Sofia Ivv Ciraulo Brandon Cobian Troy Larnell Cochrane Tristin Stone Csulak Jack Christopher Cullinane Halle Cameron Davis Jaynar De La Cruz Ochoa Boris Aaron De La Torre Dylan Buckley Delaney Dievla Diop Aavush Dixit Nolan Michael Doherty Di Jeffrey Duncan Lucy Verlaine Elser Roy A Ernster Daphne Marie Escaieda Rowan Olivia Esquer Gillian Lynn Flath Emily Anne Flohr Alejandro Ivan Flores Hannah Jo Flynn Miles Lee Forrest Leo Giovanni Garcia Alisha Gaur Anastasia Gerber Zhiwei Guo Xavier Francisco Guzman Dean Russell Handy Amy Hansa Garret Robert Harcourt Roark Harris Mark Harrison Jacob Matthew Hathcock Noah Freeman Hecht Trey Edward Henry Eleanor Jeanette Hense David Jeremiah Heras Destiny Rene Hernandez Sofia Ária Meliana Higgins Trevor Shaun Hilton Athan Ioon-Ghee Hong

Yerin Hong Malakai Isaacs Emma Rose Isroelit Sejin Jeon Jade Isabella Jess Sidney Jiang Wen Jin Mckenna Cecilia Lynn Johnson Lvnn Kan Arseniy Sam Khanamirian Ionathan Sunghwan Kim Crystal Kodsuntie Kim Kwok Angie Cassandra Laird Joie Lauryn Lariviere Olivia Miller Lazarus Isabella Leary Hee-Gun Lee Kelvin Lee Amanda Jean Lennon Iulia Ann Leonardi Maile Azevedo Levy Chen Li Zion River Light Jacques Lin Liliana Linan Theo Sawyer Lindquist Kanghong Liu Ellie Grace Lloyd Ily Nicholette Logeais Janneth Irlanda Lopez Joseph Isiah Lopez Sol Armendariz Lopez Yvonne Lu Elizabeth Maria Luna Carenina Ceralde Magsano Sawhard Maharjan Stephanie Marin Jake Franklin Marone Crystal Martinez Lesly Maria Martinez Ion Douglas Matarangas Wendy Matias Fernando Kalon Mau Mao Kevin Brian Mclarty Mairin Justine Mcnerney Kassie Ann Mei Karla Judith Mercado Suraj Mididaddi Celeste Serena Moore Malnar Ariadna Morales Christine Nguyen Kassandra Ni Rowan Lisa-Jane Oliphant Claudia Orta-Pina Kim Ann Page Iordan Walter Parrish Nik Pasamba Jeff James Peepgrass Natalie Perez Brie Noelle Peterson William Bradley Peterson Kymmie Ngoc Phan Gia Anne Polizzi Aileen Marianna Pulchny Thalia Angel Rakosky Miles J Ramsdell-Ray Sissi Yamileth Rivas

Angel Robles Diana Romero Joey Leonard Sable Defne Saglam Kameron Matthew Salazar Abe Alexander Sanchez Daniel Sanchez Brianna Cecilia Saranchock Ellen Mae Schnoor Maehyma Sekhon Olivia Shields Mya Claire Simmons Kalen Adil Sinder Ayala Michelle Slavis Jackson Scott Smith Randy Laurence Smith Ethan Scott Stauber Garrett Alexander Straschnov Tommy John Swenumson Eric Zihan Tang Ernest Tarzimanov Dane Christian Taylor Eric Rodrigo Terrazas Aguilar Ameena Constance Thune Michelle Kha Ai Tiet Marcellus Earl Tipton Megan Kristen Tomczak Brandon Tran Marlen Evelin Valencia Owen Murphy Vandevelde Alejandro Vargas Crow Vasquez Sam Michelle Velasquez Hugo Velazquez Perez Cameron James Vincent Lotus Vu Josh Alan Waldear Philip Wang Chelsea Sue Williams Daijah Myia Williams Deni True Wilson Robyn-Elizabeth T. Yan Zhenan Yan Shannon Nicole Yates Vanessa Hope Yeazel Andy David Yi Clara Rachel Zeboulon Andrea Zhang Jady Zhang Vik Zhou

Department of Film & Media Studies University of California, Santa Barbara

Graduation Recognition Ceremony

June 18, 2023

Wishing You Success in the Future



2022-2023 Graduation Program

Attention Seniors

Please sit in the first three rows for the ceremony and presentations.

Welcoming Remarks and Departmental Address

Peter Bloom

Department Chair

Student Address

Alejandro Flores

Presentation of Awards

The Alexander Sesonske Prize: Presented by Charles Wolfe

Recognizes writing and research capacity for student essays about film, television, and digital history, theory and criticism. The award is named after one of the founders of our department.

Amy Hansa, "The Rise of Dubbing in 1930s Europe: Sociopolitical Motivations and the Cultural Effects of "Americanization."

The Paul N. and Elinor T. Lazarus Scholarship: Presented by Janet Walker Fosters the development of a student's focus on writing for the screen. Award was established in memory of Paul Lazarus who taught screenwriting at UCSB for over 20 years. Many of his former students have gone on to write, produce, and direct major Hollywood films and television shows. It is open to Film and Media majors in their junior year. The scholarship recipient spends their senior year working in connection with an instructor to develop a new film or television screenplay.

2022 Recipients

Javier Barajas

Noah Hecht

Rowan Oliphant

2023 Recipients

Katie Jordan

The Dorothy and Sherrill C. Corwin Awards: Presented by Chris Jenkins For the last 40 years, the Corwin Family and the Metropolitan Theatres Corporation have generously financed this award recognizing the creative talent of UCSB students in screenwriting and production.

Short Screenplay:

Sick Joke by Jeff Peepgrass

Short Film:

Forget Me Again by Noah Hecht

Feature Screenplay:

Sugartown by Jeff Peepgrass

David F. Siegel Award: Presented by Michael Siegel

Recognizes the memory of one of our alumni who lost his battle with Leukemia just a month prior to graduation. As a student, David made every effort to put energy into his classes while he was healthy. His determination in the face of his illness has inspired this award and it recognizes graduating seniors in the Film and Media department who have shown "exceptional drive, tenacity, and courage in the face of adversity."

Crystal Kodsuntie

The Spirit Award: Presented by Lisa Parks

Recognizes a student who embodies the dynamic spirit essential to the collaborative environment of the department; their enthusiasm, generosity, and initiative while working for the department, the Pollock Theater, and department student clubs.

Al Adderly Celeste Moore Malnar Natalie Cheyette Carenina Magsano

Graduate Student Accomplishments: Presented by Naoki Yamamoto

MA degree

Alex Lilburn Paul Kim Chelsea Roesch

PhD degree

Nathan Cox Charlotte Orzel

Distinction in Critical Studies: Presented by Ross Melnick

Recognizes a student's achievement in critical thinking, analysis and writing.

Katherine Caracciolo DJ Duncan Rowan Esquer Amy Hansa Sofia Higgins Crystal Kodsuntie Joie Lariviere Celeste Moore Malnar Emma Mcintosh

Brie Peterson

Distinction in the Major: Presented by Greg Siegel

Given to a student completing a substantial two-quarter research project.

DJ Duncan

Outstanding Graduating Seniors: Presented by Jennifer Holt

Recognizes students overall academic achievements across critical studies and production as well as their contributions to the life of the department. We acknowledge students who are active, prepared, versatile, and involved in at least one other activity outside the classroom.

Al Adderly Noah Hecht Yerin Hong Sejin Jeon Zion Light Liliana Linan Carenina Magsano Jeff Peepgrass Brie Peterson Abe Sanchez Brianna Saranchock Eric Tang Sam Velasquez Robyn Yan Shannon Yates

Class of 2023: presented by Ross Melnick, Alenda Chang, Constance Penley, and Jennifer Holt For the presentation of certificates, seniors should proceed by row to house right and present your name card as you approach the stage to be announced onstage. Please gather by stage left.

Reception

Please join us next to the Pollock Theater for a light brunch and to collect your certificates.

Letters and Science Commencement Ceremony

The UCSB Faculty Club Green 4:00 PM.